Author Topic: More questions.  (Read 7907 times)

Offline TheGrandEnigma

• View Profile
More questions.
« on: March 23, 2010, 12:33:28 AM »
Like I said before, I'm really new to this whole thing, so please humor me and answer some questions.  :)

A little background:  I'm interested in short range BR shooting for groups, not score.  I've tried to answer as much as I could of my own questions, but internet pages leave a guy wanting, and it's SO much easier to "hear" it rather than "read" it. (Ok, it's a forum, I know I'll be reading responses, but you know what I mean.)  :P

1)  What makes a competition gun more accurate than a dressed-up factory gun?  More rigid action?  Tighter tolerances?  Truer Action?  Better stock design/bedding?  (On a side note, did I understand correctly that some people actually glue their actions in, not just bedded?  No screws or anything?)  Better (more uniform) materials?   Did I miss anything?

2)  Stocks seem to be made of laminated wood, (or composites?) is there any other materials used for this?

3)  Is there a point chambering a short range BR gun to anything but 6PPC?  What other rounds are competitive?  Does it make a difference between 100, 200 or 300 yrds?  6BR?  The .222 still work?  Are .30s at that much of a disadvantage?  Are .224 caliber rounds competitive?

4)  What equipment makes a complete setup (aside from rifle)?  Rests (front and back), ammo boxes, requisite gun care products, notebooks/logbooks, a reloading setup, and something to move it all?

I'm sure I could think of more but maybe I'll just leave these here for now.  I know it's a novel, just answer at your leisure, no rush.  Thanks in advance for the patience.  :)
See you around the Forum,

Matt M

Offline cyanchycki

• View Profile
    • Selkirk Game and Fish
Re: More questions.
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2010, 07:39:43 AM »
Like I said before, I'm really new to this whole thing, so please humor me and answer some questions.